PA’I’s Executive Director to be Honored!

FPF Invited

Each year, First Peoples Fund, a national Native arts organization that works with artists across the United States to sustain culture, and cultivate entrepreneurial and economic development initiatives, honors the Collective Spirit of Native artists with First Peoples Celebrates: The Jennifer Easton Community Spirit Awards.
The awards are given each year to recognize the exceptional passion, wisdom and purpose the recipients bring to their art and the communities they serve. This year’s CSA honoring ceremonies are taking place right in the communities where the artists live and work, making each honoring a local celebration. Join us for an evening of inspiring stories and beautiful performances as we honor two Native Hawaiians and a member of the Turtle Mountain Band Chippewa.
Cyril Pahinui
Cyril Pahinui
Vicky Holt Takamine
Vicky Holt Takamine
Denise Lajimodiere
Denise Lajimodiere
E Hui Pu Kakou I Ka Ho’olaule’a ‘Ana
O Ka First Peoples Fund:
Ka Jennifer Easton
Community Spirit Awards

I Ka Po’aha (Thursday), Iune 13, 2013

Orvis Auditorium
University of Hawai’i Music Department

2411 Dole Street, Honolulu, Hawaii 96822

Ka Hola 6:30 p.m. Ho’ohanohano (Honoring)

Cyril Pahinui (Hawaiian), Slack Key Guitarist

Vicky Holt Takamine (Hawaiian), Hula

Denise Lajimodiere (Turtle Mountain Band Chippewa), Literary & Traditional Regalia

Ho’ike (Special Guest Performances)

Pua Ali’i ‘Ilima

Jennifer Kriesberg

Scatter Their Own

Frank Waln & Samsoche Sampson


Powwow Style Dancers, including Lori Pourier, Ron Martinez Looking Elk, James Star Comes Out, Denise Lajimodiere, Lauren Good Day Giago

Mahalo nui loa ia First Peoples Fund’s Our Nation’s Spaces, Ford Foundation Diverse Arts Spaces, Native Arts and Culture Foundation, University of Hawaii Music Department, Alternate ROOTS, National Association of Latino Arts Organizations no ko lakou kako’o i ko makou hana.

© PAʻI Foundation 2001-2017